Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
					
				 
				In our JV game last night, there was a foul called during this dead ball period.  It was a common foul.  I asked at the break about it, and he said if the ball was dead, he would've called a tech, it was significant enough to call that. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 By rule, then, the personal foul he called should have been either intentional or flagrant.
	Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				Then after the break, he told me it wasn't dead, because he talked to his mentor, one of the V refs that night, a guy I know pretty well.  He said it was live, because the clock was running.  Takes a whistle to make the ball dead, he told me.  I didn't think that was right at all.
			
		 | 
	
	
 You're right, coach - the varsity ref needs to look back over his rulebook.
Just as a clarification for everyone reading, the ball becomes live again when it is at the disposal of the inbounding team, which may come before the inbounding team touches the ball.