Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, you missed the call. That's a legal play. You can only call basket interference if they grabbed the net while the ball was on or within the basket. In this case, it was in the cylinder above the basket.
See NFHS rule 4-6-1. You should have had a no-call because there was no violation.
|
Yeah, I know the rule and agree with what you're saying - except they still had contact with the net when the ball entered the basket. The ball hit the front of the rim with a glancing blow, then the backboard immediately above the rim & then through - whole thing took maybe half a second, and they clearly still had contact with the net when the ball started through the rim. Maybe I'm wrong, but in my mind that satisfied the requirement for BI.
As for a double T, we could have "technically"

called one, but I don't think it was severe enough in this case to justify it.