View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 17, 2006, 06:12am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor
JV boys game. A1 shoots from about 14' out, shot is slightly short and the ball bounces up off the front of the rim, hits the backboard, then goes in. Now the fun part - while the ball is in the cylinder, but before it drops through the rim, both A3 & B3 grab a handfull of net (yes it caused the rim to move). The decision we made on the spot was to wave off the basket, then go with the possession arrow for the subsequent spot inbound.

Any thoughts on this? I thought about it on the drive home and don't see how we could have done anything else......did we miss anything?
Yup, you missed the call. That's a legal play. You can only call basket interference if they grabbed the net while the ball was on or within the basket. In this case, it was in the cylinder above the basket.

See NFHS rule 4-6-1. You should have had a no-call because there was no violation.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sun Dec 17, 2006 at 06:15am.
Reply With Quote