View Single Post
  #68 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2006, 08:55am
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
That meets the test of 7.6.1, but fails the test of 9.2.10.
That's what I said. It is not a violation by the thrower under 7.6.1. It is a violation by the toucher OOB under 9.2.10.
Rule 7.6.1 does not make it legal for the player to catch it OOB it only describes the throw-in administration.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Just because it's not a violation of one rule does not entail that it's not a violation of another. In my example, the throw-in does not violate the rule requiring the throw-in to be touched by a player before going OOB, but it does violate the rule that prohibits the throw-in first being touched OOB.
No one said otherwise. What's your point?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
FWIW, I disagree with PYRef: this is not a model claim, but rather two distinct violations that happen to have the same penalty.
I fail to see two distinct violations. Legal play by the thrower, illegal play by the receiver OOB.

It's not that complicated.

Last edited by PYRef; Fri Dec 15, 2006 at 08:59am.