View Single Post
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 02:35pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
You have made your case clearly. It is not the interpretation of this exact play that I have been given. I have been instructed that the violation is for causing the ball to go OOB (9-3-1) and the correct throw-in spot is that nearest the violation. (9-3-1 penalty).
By definition(4-42-5), a throw-in ends when the when the throw-in pass touches someone who is either in or out of bounds. The throw-in act ended by touching someone who was OOB, which is a violation of rule 9-2-10. How can it be anything other than a throw-in violation?

Iow, R9-3 is simply an irrelevant rules reference imo.