View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 02:04pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
1)1) If the thrower holds the ball across the OOB line and the defender takes the ball away, are you calling an OOB violation?

2) If the throw-in is a bounce pass, that touches the court inbounds, and then is touched by a player (either team) with a foot on the OOB line, are you still saying the ball "is already out of bounds."
1) That case is specifically outlined in the rules. It is also not a throw-in per se. The ball was never released by the thrower. That's why it's a held ball.

2) That's irrelevant. The player standing OOB that first touched the throw-in committed a violation as per rule 9-2-10. The listed penalty for that violation is a throw-in to the opponents at the original throw-in spot.