Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef
I believe that the rules clearly indicate that to be out of bounds (have foot on or beyond the boundary line, while attempting to play the ball or to be just standing there playing and touch or be touched by the ball causes the ball to be out of bounds and is a violation.
|
This part of the email is irrelevant to the discussion. The person catching the inbounds pass did not cause the ball to be out of bounds, because it already was out of bounds.
Aside from that, though, I appreciate you sharing that email with us. I respect Mr. Webb's knowledge a great deal. I'm still not sure I agree with his view of this play, but I appreciate knowing his opinion.