Thread: Violation?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 05:18pm
HawkeyeCubP HawkeyeCubP is offline
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
A player secures a loose ball with both knees in contact with the floor. That player could start a dribble (or the obvious - pass, try for a goal, etc...)correct?
Correct. They can pass, begin a dribble, try for goal, or request a time-out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
But, that player can't go to one knee - they have to reamin on two knees and if not do one of the above - it would be a travel?
They cannot go from two knees to one knee while holding the ball. That is a traveling violation under the following rule (with specific support from the previously cited Case Book Situations):

4-44-5-b. A player holding the ball after gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.
Reply With Quote