Thread: Time-out?
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 12:23pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Case book play 9.1.7 says "After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semi-circle without violating, until restrictions have ended." According to rule 9-10, free throw restrictions are in place until the ball touches the ring or backboard or until the free throw ends.

Thoughts?
Yes. You're mixing manure again.

Suppose A1 was in the circle, then A was granted a TO. Clearly A1 can leave teh circle for the TO, then return for the FT. The same applies to A1 not bing in the circle and A being granted a TO.

Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Interesting. Now, to bring in an NCAA case into this, let's say A1 has the ball for a FT, and B1 steps in the lane early. The official signals the delayed dead ball. Then, A's coach asks for, and is granted a TO. After the TO, we line up for the FT, and the delayed violation continues. Iow, if A1 misses, they are granted a replacement FT, because the TO does not wipe away the violation.

Again, this is an NCAA A.R., not a Fed. case play
The ruling is the same in both codes.
Reply With Quote