View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 08, 2006, 02:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy
Of course not. But the rules (at least ours) cover specifically this situation and say that you don't look at the severity of the contact, provided the players had the opportunity to get at the ball without causing illegal contact: if B2 had free space towards the ball, then the ensuing contact is incidental. So, just saying that A2 falls is not sufficient.

It's not a question of "sissy ball", I agree. But it's not an automatic foul either. If A2 was between B2 and the ball, then I'm inclined to call a foul on B2, but have to see the play to judge.
Yes, but....
In the original post, he specifically stated that B2 went through A2 to get to the ball, taking A2 out at the knees. I'm not picturing any play that could be described this way in which it is not a foul on B2.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote