View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 08, 2006, 02:09pm
eg-italy eg-italy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartsy
Uh, yeah. If it's not incidental, it must be illegal. Your comment basically says two players can go after the ball unless one of them fouls, with which I agree.

The ball being loose does not suddenly turn all contact into incidental contact.
Of course not. But the rules (at least ours) cover specifically this situation and say that you don't look at the severity of the contact, provided the players had the opportunity to get at the ball without causing illegal contact: if B2 had free space towards the ball, then the ensuing contact is incidental. So, just saying that A2 falls is not sufficient.

It's not a question of "sissy ball", I agree. But it's not an automatic foul either. If A2 was between B2 and the ball, then I'm inclined to call a foul on B2, but have to see the play to judge.
Reply With Quote