View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 12:16am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by booker227
My fellow umpires are split on this.
Situation:
Batter hits the ball which hits the plate and rebounds high behind her and the catcher. Catcher makes a play on the ball and catches it before it hits the ground or anything else in foul territory. Question, fair or foul ball? If you can, please site the reference/rules book...
thanks, Booker227
Please tell me you are kidding? Don't care what rules you are using, this is a no brainer.

The status of a bounding ball which is touched by a player or object foreign to the ground prior to touching or passing first or third base is determined by the location of the ball at the time of contact. IOW, if the ball was over foul ground at the time the catcher first touched the ball, it is foul.

Apparently, some of your fellow umpires need a clinic.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote