
Tue Dec 05, 2006, 09:20pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
For purposes of this scenario, let's assume that some sort of omniscient Supreme Being (you fill in the name of your preference) is the timer for the game, and so the clock is run absolutely perfectly and lag/reaction time does not exist. Also, this is a televised game and we have a courtside monitor that fulfills all the rule requirements.
Team A is down by one point with a few seconds left in the game. B1 fouls A1 (non-shooting foul) and the clock is stopped at 0:00.0, BUT the horn has not sounded. A is awarded a throw-in.
A1 inbounds to A2, who miraculously taps the ball in for a 3 point basket. The ball clearly left his hand before the horn sounded (let's ignore for the moment the physics governing impulses). The covering official signals good basket, and the R goes to check the monitor. At this point, B's coach points out that, in order to count on review, the ball must have left the hand before 0:00.0 is displayed on the couch. (The video shows that the ball left the hand before both the red light and the horn came on.)
Do you:
a) go with the call on the floor?
b) agree with B's coach - the clock showed :00.0, so no shot?
c) call me a dextering wacko for thinking up this scenario?
d) think the NCAA and/or clock manufacturers should fix this?
e) all of the above?
(FWIW - NBA rules state that "if the ball is dead and the game clock shows :00.0, the period has ended even though the horn may not have sounded." (5.III.b))
|
Underlined is what should be done.
The blue is the correct call by the NCAA rules.
What is in red is certainly true, but demonstrates your creativity.
The pink is what needs to be done.
PS The couch comes into this play due to all the therapy that you need!
|