View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 10:25pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
In high school there is no team control during throw-in, but in NCAA there is.

Therefore in HS, if A1 throw-in lands in backcourt, 10 second count does not start until Team A member secures control, but in NCAA, as soon as ball lands in backcourt 10 second count should commence, correct?
Actually, I was thinking about exactly this last week. I went to the NCAA rules book and check for an exception similar to the one that was put in for the backcourt violation (9-12-4), but could not find one. It made be think that the 10 second count should start once the ball touches the backcourt. However, the first words of the rule are "An inbounds player" and the thrower is an out-of-bounds player.
Finally, I thought about the game clock. Can a ten-second count begin BEFORE the game clock starts? For example, thrower A1 makes a bounce pass into the backcourt which remains inbounds and untouched for three full seconds prior to A2 catching the ball. When should the 10-second count begin?
I concluded that it would be nonsense to start the 10-second count prior to the game clock, thus despite there being team control during a throw-in under NCAA rules I'll wait for an inbounds player to control the ball before starting the count.
Reply With Quote