View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 10:07pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
I'm not going to call 10 seconds unless they gain an advantage by being back there that long. In other words, if they've released a pass for the front court or are moving past the division line, my count pretty much stops. So, if, in theory, the clock did start properly and only 9 seconds go off the clock when I blow, they are probably around the free throw line extended hung up.
I say that your philosophy equates to screwing the defense.
Do you do the same on your throw-in and closely-guarded counts?

Even the NCAA disagrees with you:


A.R. 185. (Men)
A1 is in the back court and has dribbled for eight seconds when he passes the ball forward toward A2 in the front court. While the ball is in the air, going from back court to front court, the 10-second count expires.
RULING: Violation. The ball shall be awarded to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where A1 was standing when he threw the ball.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Sat Dec 02, 2006 at 10:28pm.
Reply With Quote