Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
Question 2:
After a timeout there is 15.0 seconds on the game clock at the end of the game and Team A making a throw-in in the backcourt. Team A gained control immediately on the throw-in. Team A commits a ten second violation. Team B is given a throw-in near the divison line but the clock reads 3.5. What are you supposed to do by rule for NHFS & NCAA?
|
For NFHS you must go by when the whistle was blown (or not blown at all). The game clock does not matter, the official's count does. So if the official has a slow count the defensive team loses some time.
5.10.1 SITUATION B: Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. A1's throw-in pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn sounds. The trail official does not make a 10-second call because he/she "lost the count." RULING: The game is over. The clock may not be reset as there are no rule provisions to do this. If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official's accuracy in counting seconds.