View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 05:11pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Actually this was a recent rule change. The NFHS added the word "common" to rule 7-5-7 in the 2004-05 rules book. This necessitated a change in the accompanying case play. Here is the current ruling:


7.5.7 SITUATION D: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-10)
Reply With Quote