View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 12:58pm
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
case book play 4-12-6 referencing throw-ins says "The throw-in ends when A2 touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control. That means that neither player or team control has been established because either is needed to have a backcourt violation as per 9-8.
But this doesn't answer the original question. In this particular situation, the point is that the count doesn't start until team control is gained. The point is not how team control is gained. This is a situation that one might never see, but the series of batted passes would seem to constitute team control, whether an individual player ever caught the ball first or not.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote