Thread: clock work
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2002, 09:03pm
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by crew
5.10.1 situation e, covers this almost exactly. the timer should have never started the clock, therefore if you have def knowledge you can restore the clock exactly.

by the way the nf rule book only says to start the clock when the official chops the clock, or start the clock as per rule. does the nf rule book ever state when to start the clock as per rule(exception- when ref chops). if the book does say when to start the clock i have not found it. nf does not address this situation appropriately.
Crew - I disagree on both of your points. Case 5.10.1.e has to do with an inbound pass hitting the referee on the floor and then going directly OOB. You would not start the clock if it hit a ref because that is the same as hitting the floor at that spot.

The NF rule book says specifically to start the clock on a throw in "when the ball touches, or is touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower." (NF 5.9.4.) I don't know how much clearer that could be.

In the case sited in this thread, you would chop the clock when the ball touches B3, then whistle the violation. The timer should start the clock on your chop, then stop on your whistle. Half a second could easily run off during that time.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote