Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsig
That's interesting. If he didn't go back and touch 2B, and you awarded him home on the throw, could the defense then appeal the BR not touching second, or leaving early?
|
The biggest problem with the earlier quote is it leads one to an issue not in the rule. Nothing requires a base to be legally touched. Nor are awarded bases exempt from baserunning rules.
So, to respond to both previous posts,
8-5.G EFFECT: All runners will be awarded two bases, and the award will be governed by the position of the runners when the ball left the fielder's hand. Runners may return to touch a missed base or a base left too soon. When two runners are between the same bases, the award is baed on the position of the lead runner.
This is actually a lot easier than the questions asked. Runner was between 2B & 3B when ball was thrown; two base award is 3B and home. Nothing in the rule suggests it matters if bases were legally touched, or what direction the runner toward. Runner must retouch 2B and 1B, then legally advance to 2B, 3B, and home. If runner does not fulfill all baserunning responsibilities (retouching 1B, and touching all bases in proper order), runner is subject to a proper appeal.
Quite simple, actually. Greymule, I challenge you to research the same OBR rule; it has been decades since I called baseball, but I seem to recall the same basic rule, two bases from the actual position at time of throw, without regard to legally touched or direction headed.