Thread: Balk question
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2006, 03:10pm
Delaware Blue Delaware Blue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Dover, DE
Posts: 103
Send a message via Yahoo to Delaware Blue
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToGreySt
if that's the case, then isn't B legal? his first motion was to step off the rubber, then he raised his hands over his head

Joe
No, B is not legal. Raising his hands over his head is a motion normally associated with the windup. Since he disengaged the pitcher's plate, he made that motion while not in contact with the pitcher's plate. That's a balk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
According to rule 8.01, the pitcher MUST separate his hands as he disengages the rubber.
The rule is written so it appears to require that the hands separate as F1 steps off, that is not the intent of the rule. F1 must drop his hands at some point before re-engaging the pitcher's plate, but he does not have to do so as he steps off.
__________________
Bill
Reply With Quote