View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2006, 11:23am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
That's kind of the crux of the situation. What if the subs are beckoned, but don't enter, or report and go back to the huddle without being beckoned?

Play: A6 reports to the table. Team A requests and is granted a TO. The official beckons A6 into the game, then reports the TO. A6 never enters the court, but goes directly to the team bench. During the TO (a) A6 curses the official; (b) A1 curses the official; (c) Coach A decides he wants A1 to remain in the game instead of entering A6. Ruling: ?
If I'm reading the case play correctly, once an official beckons the sub in, the sub has now become a player and has legally entered the court, and the player replaced becomes bench personnel. There is no requirement for the ball to become live before A6 becomes a player. Rule 3-3-2 also says that if an official beckons a player--"he/she SHALL enter immediately". If they report and aren't beckoned, they simply don't become players. Case book play 3.3.1SitC kinda covers that situation.

Play: If A6 was beckoned in, then A6 is now a player and A1 is bench personnel.
1) If A6 curses during the TO, A6 gets charged with a "T", but no indirect "T" is charged to the head coach.
2) If A1 curses during the TO, then A1 gets charged with a "T" and his head coach gets charged with an indirect "T".
Reply With Quote