View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2006, 10:33am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Durkee
After official grants a time-out, A-1 uses inappropriate language. Official asseses a technical foul for the actions of A-1 who is...

b. ...part of the team huddle but, for whom, A-6 has checked into the game. Is the correct ruling to assess only a Player Technical foul because A-1 is a player because A-1 does not become Bench Personnel until substitute A-6 becomes a player by legally entering the court?
If A6 was beckoned onto the court by an official, then A6 legally entered the court and is now a player. A1 also now becomes bench personnel. There is no prerequisite that the ball must become live before A6 becomes a player.. If A1 now yaps in the TO huddle, A1 will get a "T" and the team A head coach gets charged with an indirect "T".

NFHS rules 3-3-3. Also see the language in case book play 3.3.1SitE. In that play, subs were beckoned in and a fight broke out before the ball became live. The RULING says "Substitites becomes players when they legally enter the court; in this case, when the official beckoned them on the court."
Reply With Quote