Thread: Layup
View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2006, 12:44am
dkitch dkitch is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
I'm relatively new to this whole reffing thing, but I would call a flagrant foul on A2. Whether or not B1 had LGP is irrelevant, since this is not a block/charge situation.

If B1 was guarding A2, and A2 punched him in the face, the foul would still be on A2 no matter what. From how you described it, Dan, A2 made deliberate contact with B1 and the contact was excessive.

Not sure of the NCAA rules, but from NFHS:

Justification for the foul is found under NFHS 10-6-1, "A player shall not: hold, push, charge, trip; nor impede the progress of an opponent...blah blah blah...; nor use any rough tactics.."

And for justification on the flagrant:
NFHS 4-19-4 "A flagrant foul... If personal, it involves, but is not limited to violent contact such as striking, kicking, and kneeing..."
Reply With Quote