View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 18, 2006, 12:42pm
All_Heart All_Heart is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Ball caused to go OOB

NCAA:

Quote:
Rule 7-2 A.R. 149
A1, while dribbling, touches B1, who is standing on a sideline.
RULING:
A1 is inbounds; however, when the ball in control of A1 touches B1, the ball is out of bounds and shall be awarded to Team A at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred.
This ruling seems to be different from the question. In the question I'm reading it as A1 touches B1 not the ball touches B1. The ruling seems to say the ball touches B1. Is this just a badly worded question?

I thought that if a player in control of the ball touches a player OOB that this is not an OOB violation. Is this a high school rule that I'm thinking of? Does it matter if it is A1 that initiates the contact with a player OOB?

This can't be the rule because B1 could just step OOB and touch A1 during a fast break.
Reply With Quote