View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 11, 2006, 03:04pm
zebraman zebraman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id

Lets look @ it a little different. What if the coach had already gotten a "T" in the game. Then this happens as I described it. Could we legally give him a "T" even though the game has been decided. The "T" now would be his second and would keep him from coaching the next game.

I really don't know the answer and can't find anything on it. Not that this would ever happen, just curious to see if it would still fall in the realm of our jurisdiction.
You certainly could. The jurisdiction of the officials does not end until they have all left the visual confines of the playing area.

Case play 2.2.4 Situation A:
The score is Team A-62 and Team B-61 when the horn sounds to end the fourth quarter. Prior to the referee's approval of the final score, the coach of Team A directs obscene gestures at the officials. RULING: A technical foul is charged and the result of the free throws will determine which team wins or whether an extra period is required.
__________________
"To learn, you have to listen. To improve, you have to try." (Thomas Jefferson)
Z
Reply With Quote