View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 11:37am
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA:

8.2.F. Batter runner is out "When the batter-runner interferes with:
6. (Fast Pitch) interferes with a dropped third strike."

No intention necessary. I proposed to change this rule last year to cover accidental interference, but it failed.

In this play, the ball is dead and the BR declared out.
Of course, "intentional" is now out of all interference criteria; if I understand the changes correctly.
Ignoring that, why would you treat interference with a D3K differently than with a batted ball?
And why does that rule say dropped 3K and not uncaught 3K?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote