View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 08:38am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Lightbulb

Interesting.

We had a FGA late in a V playoff game where the covering official (short side sideline official in 4-man crew) signalled wide. The ball sailed OOB (in Canada, the uprights are on the GL) so that same official then blew his whistle to signal a single point (rouge). Everyone knew it was good so when they saw him signal wide, then the rouge, many were saying it was good. The R happened to look up at the flight of the ball for a sec and saw it good. The U also looked up and knew it was good.

Point is, the crew got together and did decide that the attempt was good. They awarded the 3 points and of course, being a playoff game, the team that lost blamed the officials.

IMO, the whole thing was caused by a hole in the mechanics that the covering official properly followed. There was no way to cover both uprights with just one official.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote