Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
A dropped third strike. A ball missed then hit on the backswing is not legally batted. A ball not legally batted is neither fair nor foul.
If the hitting was unintentional, and did not interfere with the ability of the defense to make the play, we have a live ball, batter-runner must be put out. If the hitting was judged intentional, or the hitting interfered with the ability of the defense to make the play, it is interference, and the batter is out.
|
Speaking ASA:
8.2.F. Batter runner is out "When the batter-runner interferes with:
6. (Fast Pitch) interferes with a dropped third strike."
No intention necessary. I proposed to change this rule last year to cover accidental interference, but it failed.
In this play, the ball is dead and the BR declared out.