
Thu Nov 09, 2006, 11:17am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
A dropped third strike. A ball missed then hit on the backswing is not legally batted. A ball not legally batted is neither fair nor foul.
If the hitting was unintentional, and did not interfere with the ability of the defense to make the play, we have a live ball, batter-runner must be put out. If the hitting was judged intentional, or the hitting interfered with the ability of the defense to make the play, it is interference, and the batter is out.
|
Steve pretty much covered all bases on this one.
__________________
Scott
It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
|