Thread: Coverage Areas
View Single Post
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 06:46am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to drinkeii
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Yeah, I can attest that tomegun is one of the strictest adherents to the "stay in your primary" philosophy in the officiating community. Now let me add that despite his being a skilled referee, I believe that this fact has served him very well when he has worked with top officials. It certainly prevents him from ticking off those of them with big egos, and they come away from the game feeling that he is a great partner with which to work who does his job and lets you do yours.
Again with the egos - why should we be worried about the egos of our partners? Our job isn't to stroke the egos of our partners, and come away from the games making them feel like they have worked with a great partner. Nice side benefit, but you could work the worst game of your life, and come away with a partner who felt you did a great job, and that means something?

Also, why do I care if my partner thinks I do my job and lets him do his? I and my partner are there to WORK TOGETHER and officiate the game. Not to do my job and let him do his. Sounds very much like an "Officiate your primary ONLY, and i'll officiate my primary ONLY, and everything will work out perfect, because that is how the mechanics gods want it".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Actually it's more sad than funny. I'm amazed at the number of people that try to rationalize away their "ball-watching" by using the old "get the call right" excuse. Maybe it would be easier to just reverse the 2-man mechanics to keep 'em happy. The Trail takes everything below the foul line extended on his side including the lane, and the Lead takes everything about it. That's basically what they're advocating anyway.
Not even close, and that is just silly to even propose it - I am assuming you were making a joke.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee