View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 01:39am
Gimlet25id Gimlet25id is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Actually, I think that 4-3-1 probably covers it, but we just have to wait a bit until the ball is controlled inbounds. Of course, it is not entirely clear that this rule applies since that article ends with the words "as after the jump ball." Some may construe that to mean that article 1 only applies to jump ball situations. If that is the case, then this situation truly is not covered by any existing rule and 2-3 would have to be invoked to set the initial direction of the AP arrow!

You will notice that I don't ask simple questions on this forum. When I ask a question it is usually because there is some uncertainty in the rules.

While it is doubtful that this situation will ever happen, I posted this in the hope that someone will read this and deepen their understanding of how the AP arrow is initially set.
No doubt that it will deepen your understanding of the AP. I will have to disagree that we would have to wait for the ball to be controlled inbounds. In this case we are talking about setting the INITIAL direction. Not adminstering a AP Throw in.

So instead of going to 2-3 I 'm sure we can adminster this play under 4-3 and be just fine. We're really not relying on 4-3 art. 1 but more importantly 4-3 art. 2-3. We've had a score regardless if its free throws or a basket I'm sure it would be the same.

I'm enjoying the discussion...
Reply With Quote