View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 10:51pm
HawkeyeCubP HawkeyeCubP is offline
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
The NF does not do a very good job on this rule. There are two "planes", the vertical plane of the crossbar and the vertical plane above the inside edge of the uprights.
All the rule says is the ball as to pass between them. You don't pass between them unless you have gone beyond these planes.

The case book then provides an interpretation, highly unlikely in my opinion of a ball that has passed beyond and is blow back as being good.
I can accept that.
However, I see no way by rule can you rule that a FG would is good if it hits any of the goal posts and rebounds into the EZ as the ball was never (fully)past these planes.

I much prefer the NCAA description and intrepretations even on a wind situation.
I like the NCAA rule better also.
Reply With Quote