View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 08:44pm
waltjp waltjp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
They should have. By rule, technically, if the field and uprights were properly marked and aligned, that would be a successful field goal, as the cylindrical front edge of the crossbar and uprights should be directly over and in line with the inside edge of the end line (1-2-5-a). The front edge of the cross bar is where the all-important "plane" is that must be penetrated by the ball.

Look at the language in Case Book play 8-4-1-a and in Rule 8-2-1-a - they both use the word "penetrate." It's the same principle, with regard to the ball and the related plane, for scoring a touchdown and a successful field goal or try.
I disagree. The case book play you reference uses 'penetrate' to illustrate that the ball wasn't completely inside the upright, but instead passed over the upright.

Rule 8-4-1c states that the ball "shall pass between the vertical uprights ... and above the crossbar"

"Pass" is the important word here - meaning 'to move in a path so as to approach and continue beyond something'. A ball bouncing on a crossbar has not continued beyond it.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote