Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Case Book play 8-4-1-a's language implies that it is to be treated the same as a ball in possession breaking the plane of the goal line, so any part of the ball breaking the plane of the crossbar between the uprights would be considered a successful field goal.
..."it is an unsuccessful attempt because the ball did not penetrate the plane of the goal between the inside of the uprights extended."
On a side note - the way that NCAA rule reads, a ball that is blown back over the crossbar and between the uprights after passing through that area is not a successful try/field goal. Interesting.
|
The NF does not do a very good job on this rule. There are two "planes", the vertical plane of the crossbar and the vertical plane above the inside edge of the uprights.
All the rule says is the ball as to pass between them. You don't pass between them unless you have gone beyond these planes.
The case book then provides an interpretation, highly unlikely in my opinion of a ball that has passed beyond and is blow back as being good.
I can accept that.
However, I see no way by rule can you rule that a FG would is good if it hits any of the goal posts and rebounds into the EZ as the ball was never (fully)past these planes.
I much prefer the NCAA description and intrepretations even on a wind situation.