View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 05:52pm
HawkeyeCubP HawkeyeCubP is offline
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Case Book play 8-4-1-a's language implies that it is to be treated the same as a ball in possession breaking the plane of the goal line, so any part of the ball breaking the plane of the crossbar between the uprights would be considered a successful field goal.

..."it is an unsuccessful attempt because the ball did not penetrate the plane of the goal between the inside of the uprights extended."

On a side note - the way that NCAA rule reads, a ball that is blown back over the crossbar and between the uprights after passing through that area is not a successful try/field goal. Interesting.

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Mon Nov 06, 2006 at 05:55pm.
Reply With Quote