Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Ok, since we're on the subject of real world - let's say I work for a grumpy, old assignor. I give him a call after the game, and give him the following information:
Our game went pretty smooth, except for one problem. I was at L, and BillyBob was at T. A1 shoots, the ball bounces high off the rim, and goes through. B's coach calls TO right away, and I see him talking to BillyBob. BillyBob calls me over and tells me the coach is asking why the basket counted, since it hit the support. I ask BB if he's sure it did, and he tells me, "Hell yea, it hit the guy wire. That's still in play, right?" So I tell him, nope, he lost his gold star for the evening. We called both coaches over, and I told them we screwed up a rule and counted the basket when it should've been OOB after hitting the support. We took off the basket, and gave the ball to B for a spot throw-in. A's coach grumbled a little, but I think he saw it hit as well.
So, how badly would our crew get dinged for handling it this way?
|
Real world?
You got
two coaches that need an explanation. Neither of them is going to be happy. Grumpy Ol' Assignor has to issue something to both coaches that will tell them what the proper call should have been according to their particular set of playing rules. And in their particular set of playing rules, there is
NO rule that Grumpy Ol' Assignor knows of that will allow an official to go back and cancel the basket. And btw, Grumpy Ol' Assignor also asked his association's interpreter, Mr. Grumpy Ol' Rules Interpreter, if
he knew of any rule that would apply. Grumpy Ol' Rules Interpreter couldn't come up with a rule either that would let an official go back and cancel the basket because a violation was not called at some point prior to that basket being scored. So, Grumpy Ol' Assignor has to write a letter to both coaches and the league saying that, unfortunately, one of his officials musunderstood a rule and failed to call a violation that he should have called. And then his fellow official came up with another ruling that is not supported by any rule in the book to retroactively call the missed violation and cancel the made basket. Grumpy Ol' Assignor wrote that the proper ruling on the court would have been to count the made basket because there was no rules provision to do otherwise. Grumpy Ol' Assignor then apologizes to both coaches and their league on behalf of both officials and his association, and assures them that such a situation will not happen again in the future.
Would the officials get dinged? You bet your sweet azz that
both officials are getting dinged. The first official is getting dinged for
not knowing that the wire is OOB. The second official is getting dinged for cancelling a made basket without having any rules provision to do so.
Mr. Grumpy Ol' Assignor is
not a happy man, BillyJoeBob.

Fair is fair, but rulez is rulez too. Sometmes they don't meet.
And btw, in the real world, the team that had the basket taken away
always loses by 1.