View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 10:35am
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
The error didn't "result in erroneously counting...a score." THe error resulted in allowing the ball to stay in play, and that's not correctable. Yes, there was a score, but that wasn't the error. The item you cite refers to things like BI, 3-point shots, and so forth.
But was there a score? In order for there to be a score, a live ball must pass through the net. The ball was dead when it the support. Therefore, aren't you erroneously counting a score?

Juulie, I certainly understand what you're saying, and it opens a messy can o' worms. But, in a real-world situation, I'm going to have more problems telling one coach we're still going to count the score even though everyone saw the ball hit the support, rather than telling the first coach we're going to cancel the score because my partner mis-applied the rule.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote