View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 10:09am
SmokeEater SmokeEater is offline
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehcco
I am a new official and am trying to understand the subtleties of the rules so please be patient.

I would cite 2-10-1. Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertantly set aside and results in:
d. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

The rule I thought the official set aside was 7-1-2d. The ball is out of bounds when it touches or is touched by:

d. The Ceiling, overhead equipment, or supports.

Because the situation says the official "allows play to continue" I thought it meant he/she saw the ball contact the wire and inadvertantly set aside 7-1-2d. Perhaps I am reading too much into the question but why would the official allow play to continue?
This is what I was thinking as well. Good job referencing the appropriate rules ehcco.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote