View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2006, 10:17am
Skahtboi Skahtboi is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC
Okay, I hate to do this (especially without having read my rulebooks, which are 10 miles away, but...)

Recently, I saw a player called out for this in a game (under NFHS rules):

R1 on 3rd, took normal lead with the pitch. BR took ball four, and ran towards first. The catcher returned the ball to the pitcher and R1 returns to 3rd. The runner continued through 1st towards second, saw that the pitcher had the ball stoped and immediately returned to first.

The BU said she should not have left 1st while the pitcher had the ball. With this intepretation, we don't need to worry about what R1 does at 3rd, because BR is out at first...
From what I am reading here, BU was wrong. The BR can round first, stop, then decide whether to return to first (which she did), or continue on to second, with no penalty, so long as she does one or the other "immediately" in the judgement of the umpire.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote