You fella are making to much of this.
Whether A1 fumbled the ball or passed it is of no concern to an official. Had the ball hit his foot and then it the floor OOB, he could have retrieved it, as long as he didn't violate the spot requirement. But that's not what happened. The ball entered the playing floor, where it is free for anyone to gain possession.
As far as any NCAA rule goes, I'm pretty sure that Larry officiates under NF rules. But the fact of the matter is, the thrower did not violate the requirement that the ball be passed directly onto the playing floor. That rule is to prevent a player from throwing the ball off a wall or other obstruction behind him. It doesn't mean that he can't bounce the ball off his own foot.
As far as 9.1 goes, 9.1 applies to a FT, not a throw-in. With a FT, no one would be allowed go into the lane and retrieve the ball. Therefore, you blow the whistle and give the shooter one more opportunity not to screw it up.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott
"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
|