View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 22, 2006, 10:41pm
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
It's an illegal formation foul for an eligible-number receiver to be covered up in the NFL.
I found this from Markbreit's column:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Markbreit's column

What on earth is an illegal formation penalty for the "wide receiver covering the tight end?" The Bears were hit with two of these in Sunday's game. In 20 years of watching football, I have never heard of that. --Matt, Coralville, Iowa

Under NFL rules, players are numbered for eligibility. Tight ends and wide receivers must be on the end of the line of scrimmage in order to be an eligible pass receiver. If a wide receiver is on the line of scrimmage and a tight end is inside of him, an illegal formation has occurred because another eligible has covered the eligible tight end. The formation would be legal if the wide receiver would drop off of the line of scrimmage so that he is not in a direct line with the tight end.
Reply With Quote