Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy
In the Seahawks-Minnesota game, Seattle was called for illegal formation. The WH said it was because the tight-end was covered by a wide receiver. Watching the replay, it looked like they had 8 on the LOS. The play was roll out, and the flag was down before a pass was thrown. If the TE was downfield, I'd think it would be an ineligible downfield.
Does the NFL require exactly 7 on the line? Why was this a foul for illegal formation?
|
If I remember right it was an IF foul for the tackle being on the end of the LOS, not covered up by the TE, as he was too far back, and that is a foul in the NFL. If an ineligible number is in an eligible position and has not reported to the referee, it is a foul for IF.