Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by mj
					
				 Seattle was flagged for an illegal formation when Hasselbeck spiked the ball to stop the clock with 4 seconds left.  St. Lous fans and coaches thought there was a ten second run off but that is only the case for a false start or when players don't set before the snap. | 
	
 The R's explanation was terrific.  "There is no 10 second run-off because the ball was legally snapped."  If it had been a false start, I guess it would've been a dead-ball foul.  Therefore, no snap.  But b/c the snap was legal, the play is allowed to continue.  So if the Rams had somehow been able to force a turnover on that play, it would have been allowed to stand.  I was very impressed with the ruling and the explanation.
I also thought it was pretty funny that while he was giving the explanation, his hands were giving a sort of "calm down" gesture to the whole crowd.