View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 01:27pm
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluezebra
And "dropped third strike" is also wrong. It's a "third strike not caught". And, just because these statements have been used for years, doesn't make them correct.

Bob
And the reason "dropped third strike" is wrong, is because it perpetuates the myth that it's okay for the catcher to catch the ball on a bounce, and consider that a "caught third strike." By saying "uncaught third strike" or "third strike not caught," you capture the true essense of what the rule implies, that the ball must be caught on the fly in those situations.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote