Thread: Changing Calls?
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 11, 2006, 10:35am
bigsig bigsig is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Mild difference, but gives credence to the proverbial "tie".

Speaking ASA, the rule states that the runner must be retired prior to reaching the base. This means the onus is on the defense to beat the runner, not for the runner to beat the ball. It also means that a tie does indeed go to the runner.
That's very interesting. Our local ASA (Long Island, NY) insists and trains all umpires that a tie does not go to the runner. The runner must beat the ball.
Could you please clarify the rule for me?
Thanks
Reply With Quote