Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by David M
					
				 
				Fall ball game yesterday under OBR.  Runner on second.  Pitcher in stretch throws pitch before batter is close to being ready but batter has both feet in the box.  I called a balk for an illegal pitch.  Is this a correct call or should it be a no pitch?  Does the pitcher have to wait for the batter to be ready?  The only example I could find was of a pitcher getting the ball back from the catcher and throwing the next pitch without even taking a sign. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 8.05
If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when --
[...]
(e) The pitcher makes an illegal pitch;
Rule 8.05(e) Comment: A quick pitch is an illegal pitch. Umpires will judge a quick pitch as one delivered before the batter is reasonably set in the batter’s box. With runners on base the penalty is a balk; with no runners on base, it is a ball. The quick pitch is dangerous and should not be permitted.