View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2006, 06:23pm
PSU213 PSU213 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by foureyesallbad
NFHS:

Situation 1:

Ball is on A's 40. A75 holds B90 at A's 36 on an incomplete pass. Do we assess from the previous spot (A's 40) or the spot of the foul (A's 36)?

Situation 2:

Ball is on A's 40. A47 catches a pass at the 50 and runs to B's 1, where he is tackled. However, A35 holds B20 at A's 6. Do we assess from the previous spot (A's 40), the spot of the foul (B's 6), or the end of the run (B's 1)?

Situation 3:

Ball is on A's 40. B97 is caled for roughing the passer at A's 36 on an completed pass which ends at A's 49. Is the roughing the passer penalty assessed to the end of the play or does A have to choose between the result of the play/roughing penalty?

Thanks in advance for anyone who can help. I have suddenly been thrust into a position where I'm having to white hat some youth football and I want to do a good job.

If you can offer justifications and rule citings that would be great too!

Thanks again.
4eyesallbad
The key here is to remember basic spot (previous spot on loose ball plays) and the all-but-one principle (all fouls enforced from the spot of the foul except fouls by the offense behind the basic spot). Among other places these rules are found in 10-3 and 10-6.

Play 1 was a loose ball play, so the BS is the previous spot (A-40). Since the spot of the foul is behind this, enforce from the spot of the foul (A-36, all-but-one principle).

Play 2 becomes a running play A47 catches the pass, so the basic spot is the end of the run. The spot of the foul (B-6) is behind the end of the run (B-1), so enforce from the spot of the foul, so A will have the ball on the B-16. Incidentally, if the hold occured before the pass was complete, this would be offensive pass interference.

In play 3...roughing the passer has special enforcement, that being 15 yards added on to the end of the last run (if no change of possession). So in this case, A will have the ball on B-36 (if my math is correct). This is in Rule 10-5-5.

Hope this helps.
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote