View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 09:18pm
Dave Hensley Dave Hensley is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Here's the contradiction I see. 7.8 seems to imply that an unforced runner can advance on a play after a balk on ball four. This contradicts 7.8 where time is to be called as soon as the catcher catches the ball. For all practical purposes it doesn't make a big difference as if the balk is enforced R2 would be given third. However, if it's not to be enforced he would be in jeapordy should he advance beyond third.


Tim.
Tim, I think what you're seeing as a contradiction is due to the not-explicitly-stated but still relevant difference between (1) a caught pitch, in which case time is called as soon as the pitch is caught, and the balk is enforced unless it was ball 4 and all runners are forced, and (2) an uncaught (wild pitch or passed ball) ball 4, in which the ball is left live because runners are free to advance BEYOND their protected one base award.

If you layer the "when to call time on a balk" instructions contained in the MLB Manual and the PBUC Manual into the rulings you're citing, I think you eliminate any perceived conflict or contradiction, and achieve a clearer understanding of exactly how to enforce a balk call, in every possible situation.
Reply With Quote