Thread: Post Play
View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 09:35am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Jim is distinguishing between "jabbing" (which the FED says is a foul) and simply having the forearm on the opponent without pushing or extending (which he would say is legal).
And, as I already cited previously from the POE's of 2001-02 and 2002-03, the NFHS rulesmakers have already stated that having a forearm on an opponent is illegal, no matter what. Iow, the FED is not distinguishing between how the forearm is used; they're simply saying that if you lay a forearm on another player in any way, you've fouled that player.

Note that I'm just regurgitating the FED cites; I'm not offering my own opinion in any way.
Reply With Quote